Chippewa Township MS4 Program

Municipal Separate Storm Sewer (MS4) Program

The Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection has issued Chippewa Township an NPDES Permit for Stormwater Discharges from its small Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4). The Township’s MS4 system is inclusive of inlets, catch basins, storm sewers pipes, swales, and stormwater detention facilities, among many other facilities that collect, convey or manage stormwater. The MS4 Permit regulates discharges from the Township’s MS4 to the Waters of the Commonwealth with the intent of reducing the discharge of pollutants and increasing water quality to the maximum extent practicable. To comply with the requirements of the Permit, the Township must implement a plan to address the following six Minimum Control Measures:

MCM 1 – Public Education and Outreach

MCM 2 – Public Participation and Involvement

MCM 3 – Illicit Discharge Detection and Elimination

MCM 4 – Construction Site Runoff Control

MCM 5 – Post-Construction Storm Water Management